top of page

Tile Designs

I have been working on trying to decide on the art style for the game, since last time I have decided to move onto designing tiles for the first area.

Here is a selection of tile designs in Photoshop:

I then took these designs and made a set of textures from them; diffuse, roughness and normal maps.

I then took these into engine and made a load of different materials using material instancing to edit the tiling, rotation and colour. Below is a video showing how the roughness and normal maps are affected by light...

Here's a video of the tiles in game with a variety of different decals on top of them...

And finally a video showing how I used material instancing and a material node from Luos' on the UE4 forums, which can be found here: https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?89524-Material-Function-World-Aligned-Texture-Normal-With-offset-amp-Rotation

bottom of page