top of page

Designing Olive's House

After getting a base for the characters, I decided to help the guys and get a level design done for the first puzzle/environment (Olive's House). I started off looking at interiors that we had pinned but also colour schemes and cheap modern decor. I then made this into a moodboard for reference.

I then drew out a basic floor plan showing the different rooms and which doors were locked and which were open/accessable by walter. After planing the room out basically, I moved onto decorating and populating the house; using colour schemes from the images I had saved.

After getting the floor plan in place I drew out the gameplay.

-Start in Olive's room

-Burnard burns up snake plushie into grate and falls down in the kitchen

-Walter slides under the door and then under the door into the bathroom

-Walter then goes down the drain to travel to the kitchen sink

-Walter then travels across the surfaces knocking over a broom

-Burnard then burns up the broom to retrive the bedroom key

-They travel back up stairs and collect Olive

-All three then go to the balcony ready for the next set of puzzles

I then planned modeled a blockout of the house using a 20m by 20m measurement, we tested this in engine and I soon realised that the room was way too big so I started to plan out the house on a grid instead.

But my sizing was still off, after blocking it out and testing it in engine we realised it was a little snug so I figured out the sizing for the characters, walls and doors.

At this time I also blocked out the characters for james to use whilst in engine so that the sizing was correct.

I then took all of my previous attempts into account and floor planned again.

This time it was fine so I blocked in all the assets and gave it to the guys to work with in engine.

Heres the final house level plan:

I then got Haz to take a quick screen shot to paintover which is in progress at the moment.

This week I also got some benchmarks done; we are using a key image for reference. Below are James' pen sketches with my painting underneath; we were trying to get the feel of the game down at this point.

Here's what the block out looks like in engine:

bottom of page