top of page

Modular kit update

A week or so ago I did a post on the modular kit I have made for the game, this is a quick update on that kit after some realising some problems.

Since last time I have:

  • Moved all the pivots in the walls to be in the middle rather than the side.

  • Made the walls thicker to help with snapping

  • Remade all of the curved walls because of the new pivot placement

  • Made all of the skirting boards thicker

  • Made new curved and diagonal floor borders

  • Made 3 wide curved walls with windows and an archway

  • Made new curved and diagonal floor pieces

  • Made a thicker pillar

  • Lowered the windows

Here is what the kit looks like at the moment:

The kit now has fewer pieces because of the pivot movement which makes everything more easy to understand.

I also used a batch exporter which I highly recommend made by Jos Balcaen which can be found here: http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/batch-exportimport

This batch exporter is really great for me because you can automatically move everything to the origin (0,0,0) and put prefixes and suffixes on your exports which is amazing for naming conventions in UE4.

bottom of page