top of page

Modular assets

So this week I completely scrapped my modular set and done them again…. But better!

When I originally thought about the scene I wanted the modular set to work like tiers of a cake, therefore having to model variations of each floor that had a kit bash set attached to them, making then unique and individual, yet having each side being similar to their style.

This meant 4 models that could be replaced with each other, rotated and placed to make a wide variety of buildings. However this is not what the others had in mind. The original idea was to place everything in engine which seemed to be the easier way.

However recently this was re-thought due to the lack of time and the processing power needed by the engine to use all these assets in in one scene.

So I got my wish, what did I do? Modelled away!

I started by using the pieces I already had a created a small kitbash set which would help me make unique buildings. I then got the modular buildings and added a little trim details as well as small pillars that allowed them connect with ease and seem more realistic. I then proceeded to add decor to the modular sets and made then more interesting and iconic.

After testing these in engine, James and I agreed that the change was much needed and made the environment look that much more eye catching.

From here I decided to mass produce a variety of key pieces such as:

  • Half buildings

  • Shop fronts

  • Balcony variations

  • Roof variations

  • Attachable quarter side buildings

  • Smaller attachable pieces

Here is how they will work together in engine. Overall I'm pleased that I pushed this idea as it makes the scene that much more captivating and eye catching. I will shortly pass these onto James who will place them in engine and I can now work on some smaller assets to populate the environment.

bottom of page