top of page

Benchmarks

So this week I decided to ventured forward and create a few benchmark assets and a few tileable assets as well. This was to basically test out how we wanted the textures to look and to see if we all had the right idea in mind. It was also the bare minimum of what we wanted in the level.

So I started off with some of the modular assets such as the roofs and the pipes, I then proceeded into the tileable textures such as the walls, the grass and a cobblestone texture. But first I started off with a simple pot or urn.

This was, as hard as it seems, a rather difficult procedure as I had to actually get it looking how I want as well as getting the rest of the teams stamp of approval. This required for me to have all the assets to have a similar brush set and palette to make them fit into the real world. It also included a rather similar sort of approach when creating layers and how to build up damage, colour and light.

For this I studied Emilie Stabell and how she created her assets and stylized textures. Thankfully she has posted a tutorial on her site for this:

http://emiliestabell.com/portfolio/painting-stylized-textures/

I am humbly grateful that she has taken her time out to teach us how she went about her work and to help me develop a deeper understanding into stylized texturing. I would implore you all to check out her awesome work.

Moving on I decided to see how lighting would affect the model and furthermore how I would bake normal onto it. This basically meant testing the asset both in unreal and Marmoset to see how the lighting works depending on the engine etc.

From here I decided to work into it a bit more and then I moved on to tileable textures to see how they would all work together in a scene. As you can see the style works and flows well between the three assets and thus making it complete. For this I did in fact use a limited brush set which I will share with the team as well as showing them how I went about creating some of the assets.

From here I will write up an asset list for modular, non-modular and tileable pieces and work on them individually…. This is where the battle begins!

bottom of page