top of page

Rigging, Sculpting and Apex cloth with Olive


To start this week I got straight on with finishing Olive's body I worked on the things I outlined previously, these being taken from Ben and Craig's feedback.

I then sent over the final model to Ben again to see if there was any little changes left to make and he suggested:

  • Add a few extra poly's to smooth the silhouette and to help with rigging

  • Poly distribution is good but add an extra loop in the scarf and possibly smooth the hair

  • Soft shapes should be soft

  • Rig her then fix the topology and then unwrap

After fixing what Ben suggested here's Olive's final mesh:

After finishing the model I got into rigging her, she has 3 spine segments, 2x hair braids with 3 segments each, a bone for the tuft of hair on her head, a head, neck, a set of clavicles, a set of arms with 2 segments, 2x hands with 10 finger bones per hand, a pelvis and a set of legs with 2 segments, a set of feet and a set of toe bones.

After rigging her and making sure the deformations were working I unwrapped her.

I then got into using Apex Cloth for the scarf. This caused me a lot of problems as I couldn't get the collisions to work. I then found out you just have to click on the bones and adjust the collisions.

I then ran it to another problem, as shown below;

The scarf kept on shrinking and stretching inside of the model. I messed around with the skinning, the apex settings and collisions; but to no avail. I ended up realising that it was my export settings, I normally export in CM for UE4 but when you export the Apex cloth it doesn't give you a unit option, therefore it was exporting in inches making it smaller and thus it was stretching, clipping and getting stuck on the collisions of a model that was bigger. As soon as I fixed the sizing issue it worked straight away.

I also started to Zbrush Olive, I broke all of the pieces down and started to sculpt them individually. So far I have done her head and hair, just everything neck down to do now.

I will be continuing working on Olive this week, finishing the zbrush work and making sure her outfit and colours are decided on ready for texturing. I have done some quick renders to use for these.

bottom of page